Skip to content

The directory / Ibogaine

Ibogaine treatment centres in Mexico

12 ibogaine centres in Mexico, listed because ibogaine is unregulated there. Every centre we could confirm is operating is listed, including those with a public record, which is shown on their profiles. Nothing operating underground is listed.

4 centres have a public record entry: Beond, Ambio Life Sciences, IbogaQuest, Transcend Clinic.

Beond

Cancun, Quintana Roo

Physician-led ibogaine clinic in Cancun that opened in March 2022. It states that licensed physicians and ICU-certified nurses provide care, with continuous cardiac monitoring including QT/QTc analysis during dosing.

7 to 10 nightsFrom $12,500 (published 28 Sep 2026)Public record

Ambio Life Sciences

Playas de Tijuana, Baja California (also operates in Malta)

Ibogaine clinic near Tijuana, with a second site in Malta. Its patients made up the cohort of the 2024 Stanford study of magnesium-ibogaine in special-operations veterans with traumatic brain injury. It requires an EKG before arrival and states that it provides real-time cardiac monitoring during treatment.

4 to 5 nightsFrom $7,350 (published 28 Sep 2026)Public record

Awakening in the Dream

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato

Small home-based ibogaine house run by Rocky Caravelli, who founded it in San Pancho in 2005 and later moved it to San Miguel de Allende. It requires an EKG and blood work before arrival and states that a physician does a physical evaluation.

Baja Ibogaine Center

Rosarito Beach, Baja California

Ibogaine clinic in Rosarito Beach offering a 7-day programme. It states that a licensed Mexican physician is medical director and that medical supervision is available 24/7.

7 nightsOwn-site details only

Basse

Between Playa del Carmen and Tulum, Quintana Roo

Women-led ibogaine clinic in the jungle about 20 minutes from Tulum, founded by Laura Shapiro. It states that emergency physicians and registered nurses are on site at all times and that it does daily ECGs and continuous monitoring on an ICU-grade cardiac monitor.

7 nightsFrom $13,500 (published 28 Sep 2026)Own-site details only

Experience Ibogaine Treatment Center

Playas de Tijuana, Baja California

Small ibogaine clinic in Playas de Tijuana that treats 2-3 clients at a time. Its site lists physicians and around-the-clock nursing. Programmes run from 5-day opiate detox to 12-day fentanyl detox.

5 to 12 nights

Iboga Wellness Institute

Cozumel, Quintana Roo

Ibogaine clinic with three residences in Cozumel, treating dependency, PTSD, depression and neurological conditions. It states it provides 24/7 cardiac telemetry during treatment.

5 to 14 nightsFrom $5,500 (published 28 Sep 2026)Own-site details only

IBOGAINE Cancun

Cancun, Quintana Roo

Cancun ibogaine centre offering addiction, trauma and 'life optimization' stays of 7-18 days. Its site gives few details on staff or licensing.

7 to 10 nightsOwn-site details only

Ibogaine Clinic (Ibogaine by David Dardashti)

Playacar, Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo

Ibogaine clinic in Playa del Carmen directed by David Dardashti, which states it has operated since 2004 and treated over 3,000 people.

IbogaQuest

Tepoztlan, Morelos

Ibogaine centre in Tepoztlan, Morelos, founded in 2009, running one treatment week per month. It requires an EKG with graph and blood tests before final approval.

From $6,500 (published 28 Sep 2026)Public record

The Mission Within

Tijuana area, Baja California

Clinical psychedelic programme for veterans and first responders, directed by Dr Martin Polanco. It combines a 5-day in-person ibogaine and 5-MeO-DMT retreat in Mexico with online preparation and integration over about six weeks.

5 nights

Transcend Clinic

Cancun, Quintana Roo

Ibogaine clinic in Cancun that reopened in October 2024 as the successor to the former Clear Sky clinic. It names four physicians, including a cardiologist, and states 24/7 cardiac monitoring during treatment.

7 to 21 daysFrom $12,000 (published 18 Oct 2026)Public record

Is ibogaine legal in Mexico?

Unregulated · Ibogaine

Ibogaine is not listed in Mexico's General Health Law: unregulated, not approved.

Ibogaine and iboga do not appear in the narcotic or psychotropic schedules of Mexico's Ley General de Salud (articles 234 and 245), and no ibogaine-specific regulation exists. That is not the same as legal and licensed: no official standard sets ibogaine safety protocols such as cardiac monitoring. Peyote and psilocybin mushrooms are scheduled in Mexico. Peyote is never listed; psilocybin retreats are listed separately, as illegal but tolerated in practice.

What the sources say

  • The consolidated Ley General de Salud (last reformed DOF 15 January 2026) lists narcotics in article 234 and psychotropics in article 245. Article 245 group I includes DMT, mescaline (with peyote, Lophophora williamsii, named), psilocin and psilocybin (with hallucinogenic mushrooms of any botanical variety named). Ibogaine and iboga do not appear anywhere in the Act. (Camara de Diputados del H. Congreso de la Union, 15 Jan 2026)
  • Infobae (21 September 2026) reports that ibogaine is not on the Ley General de Salud controlled-substance list, that clinics must operate as COFEPRIS-licensed medical establishments, and that no official standard sets ibogaine-specific safety protocols such as cardiac monitoring. (Infobae Mexico, 21 Sep 2026)

More jurisdictions and substances in the legal status table.

Programme lengths and published prices

Programme length
4 to 14 nights
Median 7 nights, across 18 published programmes at 8 centres in Mexico.
Published prices (USD)
$5,500 to $36,000
Median $9,350, across 17 programmes at 6 centres, as published on 18 Oct 2026.

Computed from the programmes these centres publish; centres that publish no length or price are not counted. Not an average of what people pay.

Centre and programmeNightsFromPublished
Iboga Wellness InstituteNeurological - brain injury5$5,50028 Sep 2026
IbogaQuestSpiritual / psychospiritual workNot stated$6,50028 Sep 2026
Ambio Life SciencesNeuroregenerative Program4$7,35028 Sep 2026
IbogaQuestMood disorders / PTSD / TBINot stated$7,50028 Sep 2026
Iboga Wellness InstituteAddiction & Substance Abuse7$8,00028 Sep 2026
Iboga Wellness InstitutePTSD & Mental Health7$8,00028 Sep 2026
Ambio Life SciencesFoundational Program5$8,35028 Sep 2026
IbogaQuestAddiction interruptionNot stated$8,50028 Sep 2026
Ambio Life SciencesDetoxification ProgramNot stated$9,35028 Sep 2026
Transcend Clinic7-day programNot stated$12,00018 Oct 2026
Beond10-day program (TBI/trauma/PTSD or chemical dependency)10$12,50028 Sep 2026
BasseStandard program7$13,50028 Sep 2026
Iboga Wellness InstituteNeurological - chronic conditions14$15,00028 Sep 2026
Beond7-day Transitions program7$15,50028 Sep 2026
Transcend Clinic10-day programNot stated$17,00018 Oct 2026
Transcend Clinic14-day programNot stated$24,00018 Oct 2026
Transcend Clinic21-day programNot stated$36,00018 Oct 2026

What to check before booking

  • 11 of 12 centres describe a medical screening process on their own sites. Each profile quotes what the centre says.
  • 7 of 12 state that an ECG (EKG) is required before treatment.
  • 8 of 12 state continuous cardiac monitoring during treatment.

The medical exclusions and interactions below are the ones published research and harm-reduction services flag for ibogaine. Ask any centre how its screening handles each one.

  • Deaths: consecutive case seriesSerious risk

    A review of all known deaths outside West Central Africa temporally linked to ibogaine from 1990 through 2008 found 19 people who died within 1.5 to 76 hours of taking it. Pre-existing medical conditions, mainly cardiovascular, and/or other abused substances explained or contributed to 12 of the 14 deaths with adequate post-mortem data; seizures from alcohol and benzodiazepine withdrawal were another apparent risk factor. (Journal of Forensic Sciences, 2012)

  • Later death countSerious risk

    A 2018 review gives a detailed update of 33 deaths known to have occurred after ibogaine, including 5 in the UK, and attributes serious adverse effects to undiagnosed health conditions and/or concomitant use of other drugs. (Progress in Brain Research, 2018)

  • Mechanism of cardiac risk (hERG)Serious risk

    Therapeutic concentrations of ibogaine reduce currents through human hERG potassium channels, providing a mechanism by which it may generate life-threatening cardiac arrhythmias. A 2015 review links the accumulating reports of sudden death to this arrhythmia risk. (Addiction Biology, 2014; Molecules, 2015)

  • QT prolongation measured in a clinical studySerious risk

    In a Dutch university study of 14 opioid-dependent patients given a single 10 mg/kg dose, maximum QTc prolongation averaged 95 ms (range 29 to 146 ms), half reached a QTc over 500 ms, and in 6 of 14 the QTc stayed above 450 ms beyond 24 hours. No torsades de pointes occurred, but severe transient ataxia (unable to walk unsupported) was seen in all patients. (Addiction, 2022)

  • Overdose risk after treatmentSerious risk

    The GITA guidelines warn that ibogaine reduces accumulated opioid tolerance and increases sensitivity to opioids, so patients must understand their tolerance is reset to that of an opioid-naive person; using opioids or stimulants during or after treatment carries an acute risk of overdose. (Global Ibogaine Therapy Alliance (Internet Archive copy), 2016)

  • Methadone, buprenorphine and withdrawal seizuresSerious risk

    The GITA guidelines give specific transition rules for long-acting opioids such as methadone and buprenorphine, note that large methadone doses can themselves prolong the QT interval, and warn that stopping benzodiazepines or alcohol suddenly or within 72 hours before treatment may cause life-threatening seizures. (Global Ibogaine Therapy Alliance (Internet Archive copy), 2016)

  • Clinic death with inadequate monitoringSerious risk

    New Zealand's Health and Disability Commissioner found a clinic and its doctor in breach of patient rights after a 45-year-old woman died following ibogaine treatment: no written consent was obtained, no blood pressure was recorded after 9am on the second day of dosing, and the doctor left to go overseas, leaving sole monitoring to an assistant whose notes recorded observations such as 'Lying still'. She was found dead the next morning. (New Zealand Health and Disability Commissioner, 2015)

Every cited ibogaine safety fact

Questions, answered from the data

Is ibogaine legal in Mexico?
Ibogaine is not listed in Mexico's Ley General de Salud schedules of narcotics (art. 234) or psychotropics (art. 245), and no ibogaine-specific regulation exists. It is unregulated, not approved. Sources: Camara de Diputados del H. Congreso de la Union, 15 Jan 2026; Infobae Mexico, 21 Sep 2026.
How many ibogaine treatment centres are there in Mexico?
Peyote.com lists 12 ibogaine treatment centres in Mexico, compiled from operators' own sites and independent sources, last checked 28 Sep 2026. Of these, 4 have a public record entry, shown on their profiles with sources. A listing is not an endorsement or a safety rating.
How much does ibogaine treatment in Mexico cost?
Published prices run from $5,500 to $36,000 for a whole programme, across 17 programmes at 6 of the 12 listed centres, as the operators publish them (read between 28 Sep 2026 and 18 Oct 2026). The lowest is Iboga Wellness Institute, Neurological - brain injury, 5 nights; the highest is Transcend Clinic, 21-day program. Each price links to the operator's page in the table on this page. Prices change; confirm before booking.
How long is ibogaine treatment in Mexico?
Published programmes run from 4 to 14 nights, with a median of 7, across 18 programmes at 8 of the 12 listed centres, as the operators publish them.

Before you go

  • Fireside Project, a free, confidential psychedelic peer support line for people during and after an experience. Worth saving before a session, not after.
  • Keep a working phone line for the whole trip, so someone at home can reach you and you can reach them. A travel eSIM gives you mobile data in Mexico without buying a local SIM on arrival.

The dispatch

Laws change. Centres change. Know before you book.

A brief, sent only in weeks when something changes: jurisdictions that shifted, listings added or revised, and the research worth reading. No hype, no sourcing talk.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Unsubscribe any time.