Skip to content

The directory / Questions

Ibogaine clinic safety: what to check

Ibogaine can cause fatal heart rhythm problems, and in Mexico no official standard requires clinics to screen or monitor for them. Of the 12 clinics listed in Mexico, 7 state on their own sites that an ECG is required before treatment and 8 state continuous cardiac monitoring, as read on 28 September 2026. 4 have a public record entry.

Figures computed from the directory's rows, read 28 Sep 2026. Every fact links to its source.

The cardiac risk

  • Mechanism of cardiac risk (hERG)Serious risk

    Therapeutic concentrations of ibogaine reduce currents through human hERG potassium channels, providing a mechanism by which it may generate life-threatening cardiac arrhythmias. A 2015 review links the accumulating reports of sudden death to this arrhythmia risk. (Addiction Biology, 2014; Molecules, 2015)

  • QT prolongation measured in a clinical studySerious risk

    In a Dutch university study of 14 opioid-dependent patients given a single 10 mg/kg dose, maximum QTc prolongation averaged 95 ms (range 29 to 146 ms), half reached a QTc over 500 ms, and in 6 of 14 the QTc stayed above 450 ms beyond 24 hours. No torsades de pointes occurred, but severe transient ataxia (unable to walk unsupported) was seen in all patients. (Addiction, 2022)

  • ECG and electrolyte screeningWorth knowing

    The Global Ibogaine Therapy Alliance guidelines list prolonged QTc (over 450 ms in men, over 470 ms in women) among heart-related exclusions, give preferred potassium (4.5 to 5.5 mEq/L) and magnesium (1.5 to 2.5 mEq/L) ranges, and say a QTc over 500 ms during treatment requires immediate hospital transfer. (Global Ibogaine Therapy Alliance (Internet Archive copy), 2016)

Deaths reported after ibogaine

  • Deaths: consecutive case seriesSerious risk

    A review of all known deaths outside West Central Africa temporally linked to ibogaine from 1990 through 2008 found 19 people who died within 1.5 to 76 hours of taking it. Pre-existing medical conditions, mainly cardiovascular, and/or other abused substances explained or contributed to 12 of the 14 deaths with adequate post-mortem data; seizures from alcohol and benzodiazepine withdrawal were another apparent risk factor. (Journal of Forensic Sciences, 2012)

  • Later death countSerious risk

    A 2018 review gives a detailed update of 33 deaths known to have occurred after ibogaine, including 5 in the UK, and attributes serious adverse effects to undiagnosed health conditions and/or concomitant use of other drugs. (Progress in Brain Research, 2018)

  • Clinic death with inadequate monitoringSerious risk

    New Zealand's Health and Disability Commissioner found a clinic and its doctor in breach of patient rights after a 45-year-old woman died following ibogaine treatment: no written consent was obtained, no blood pressure was recorded after 9am on the second day of dosing, and the doctor left to go overseas, leaving sole monitoring to an assistant whose notes recorded observations such as 'Lying still'. She was found dead the next morning. (New Zealand Health and Disability Commissioner, 2015)

Opioids, methadone and withdrawal

  • Overdose risk after treatmentSerious risk

    The GITA guidelines warn that ibogaine reduces accumulated opioid tolerance and increases sensitivity to opioids, so patients must understand their tolerance is reset to that of an opioid-naive person; using opioids or stimulants during or after treatment carries an acute risk of overdose. (Global Ibogaine Therapy Alliance (Internet Archive copy), 2016)

  • Methadone, buprenorphine and withdrawal seizuresSerious risk

    The GITA guidelines give specific transition rules for long-acting opioids such as methadone and buprenorphine, note that large methadone doses can themselves prolong the QT interval, and warn that stopping benzodiazepines or alcohol suddenly or within 72 hours before treatment may cause life-threatening seizures. (Global Ibogaine Therapy Alliance (Internet Archive copy), 2016)

What each listed clinic says

From each clinic's own site, read on 28 September 2026. "Not stated" means we did not find it on the pages we read, not that the clinic does not do it. Ask.

ClinicECG before treatmentContinuous cardiac monitoringPublic record
BeondCancun, Quintana RooStatedStateddeath (8 May 2022); legal (Mar 2023)
Ambio Life SciencesPlayas de Tijuana, Baja California (also operates in Malta)StatedStateddeath (21 Jan 2026)
Awakening in the DreamSan Miguel de Allende, GuanajuatoStatedStatedNone found
Baja Ibogaine CenterRosarito Beach, Baja CaliforniaNot statedNot statedNone found
BasseBetween Playa del Carmen and Tulum, Quintana RooStatedStatedNone found
Experience Ibogaine Treatment CenterPlayas de Tijuana, Baja CaliforniaNot statedStatedNone found
Iboga Wellness InstituteCozumel, Quintana RooStatedStatedNone found
IBOGAINE CancunCancun, Quintana RooNot statedNot statedNone found
Ibogaine Clinic (Ibogaine by David Dardashti)Playacar, Playa del Carmen, Quintana RooNot statedStatedNone found
IbogaQuestTepoztlan, MorelosStatedNot stateddeath (2025)
The Mission WithinTijuana area, Baja CaliforniaNot statedNot statedNone found
Transcend ClinicCancun, Quintana RooStatedStatedcriminal (24 Jan 2026)

The law in Mexico

  • The consolidated Ley General de Salud (last reformed DOF 15 January 2026) lists narcotics in article 234 and psychotropics in article 245. Article 245 group I includes DMT, mescaline (with peyote, Lophophora williamsii, named), psilocin and psilocybin (with hallucinogenic mushrooms of any botanical variety named). Ibogaine and iboga do not appear anywhere in the Act. (Camara de Diputados del H. Congreso de la Union, 15 Jan 2026)
  • Infobae (21 September 2026) reports that ibogaine is not on the Ley General de Salud controlled-substance list, that clinics must operate as COFEPRIS-licensed medical establishments, and that no official standard sets ibogaine-specific safety protocols such as cardiac monitoring. (Infobae Mexico, 21 Sep 2026)

Questions and answers

Why does ibogaine need cardiac monitoring?
Therapeutic concentrations of ibogaine reduce currents through hERG potassium channels in the heart, a mechanism for life-threatening arrhythmias (Addiction Biology, 2014). In a Dutch study of 14 patients given 10 mg/kg, the QTc interval lengthened by 95 ms on average and half exceeded 500 ms (Addiction, 2022).
How many listed ibogaine clinics in Mexico say they require an ECG before treatment?
7 of the 12 clinics listed in Mexico state on their own sites that an ECG (EKG) is required before treatment, and 8 state continuous cardiac monitoring during treatment, as read on 28 September 2026.
Is ibogaine legal in Mexico?
It is unregulated, not approved. Ibogaine does not appear in the narcotic or psychotropic schedules of Mexico's Ley General de Salud (articles 234 and 245), and no ibogaine-specific regulation sets safety protocols such as cardiac monitoring.
What is the overdose risk after ibogaine treatment?
The Global Ibogaine Therapy Alliance guidelines warn that ibogaine resets opioid tolerance to that of an opioid-naive person, so using opioids or stimulants during or after treatment carries an acute risk of overdose.

The dispatch

Laws change. Centres change. Know before you book.

A monthly brief on jurisdictions that shifted, retreats worth knowing about, and the research worth reading. No hype, no sourcing talk.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Unsubscribe any time.