Skip to content
Ibogaine treatment centres in Mexico

Ambio Life Sciences

Playas de Tijuana, Baja California (also operates in Malta)

Ibogaine clinic near Tijuana, with a second site in Malta. Its patients made up the cohort of the 2024 Stanford study of magnesium-ibogaine in special-operations veterans with traumatic brain injury. It requires an EKG before arrival and states that it provides real-time cardiac monitoring during treatment.

Details from the centre's own website and independent sources, read 28 Sep 2026.

Enquire about Ambio Life SciencesFree, and nothing is booked on your behalf.

Public record

Reported events involving this centre, as published by the sources linked. Each entry is dated and attributed; a response is included where the centre published or gave one. We have not investigated these events ourselves.

  1. 21 Jan 2026Death

    Ambio announced that a patient died in its Detoxification Program. It pointed to street-fentanyl adulterants and pre-existing cardiac factors; the cause has not been established in any public record. Ambio then set a minimum stay of 21 days for people using fentanyl. ('Patient Safety, Transparency, and Revisions to Detox Protocols', Ambio, 21 Jan 2026; Joe Moore, 'Patient Safety After a Death', Psychedelics Today, 2 Feb 2026; Jules Evans, 'Learning from ibogaine fatalities, rather than covering them up', Ecstatic Integration, 6 Feb 2026)

The legal position in Mexico

Ibogaine and iboga do not appear in the narcotic or psychotropic schedules of Mexico's Ley General de Salud (articles 234 and 245), and no ibogaine-specific regulation exists. That is not the same as legal and licensed: no official standard sets ibogaine safety protocols such as cardiac monitoring. Peyote and psilocybin mushrooms are scheduled in Mexico. Peyote is never listed; psilocybin retreats are listed separately, as illegal but tolerated in practice.

The sources for this
  • The consolidated Ley General de Salud (last reformed DOF 15 January 2026) lists narcotics in article 234 and psychotropics in article 245. Article 245 group I includes DMT, mescaline (with peyote, Lophophora williamsii, named), psilocin and psilocybin (with hallucinogenic mushrooms of any botanical variety named). Ibogaine and iboga do not appear anywhere in the Act. (Camara de Diputados del H. Congreso de la Union, 15 Jan 2026)
  • Infobae (21 September 2026) reports that ibogaine is not on the Ley General de Salud controlled-substance list, that clinics must operate as COFEPRIS-licensed medical establishments, and that no official standard sets ibogaine-specific safety protocols such as cardiac monitoring. (Infobae Mexico, 21 Sep 2026)

The law and every listed centre in Mexico

Programmes and cost

ProgrammeLengthSessionsFrom
Foundational Program

In Mexico (EUR 7,650 in Malta). '5 days' on site. $1,000 veteran/first-responder discount stated on homepage.

5 nightsNot stated$8,350as published on 28 Sep 2026
Neuroregenerative Program

'4 days' on site, followed by 3 months of microdosing per homepage

4 nightsNot stated$7,350as published on 28 Sep 2026
Detoxification Program

$9,350-$30,000; '7 to 28 days'. After a January 2026 death, anyone using fentanyl must stay at least 21 days.

Not statedNot stated$9,350as published on 28 Sep 2026

Prices and formats as published by the operator on the date shown. They change, so confirm directly before budgeting. We never estimate a price that is not published.

Also offers

  • 5-MeO-DMT (synthetic), given after ibogaine per Rolling Stone Apr 2026, Mother Jones and The War Horse Jan 2026; not mentioned on Ambio's FAQ

Peyote.com lists this centre for ibogaine only and does not cover 5-MeO-DMT here: we have not assessed these offerings, and they are not part of this listing.

A safety note on 5-MeO-DMT

A published autopsy case attributed a death to hallucinogenic amine intoxication after 5-MeO-DMT was taken together with harmala alkaloids, and ICEERS reports a US death that seems to have followed an overdose of synthetic 5-MeO-DMT taken hours after ayahuasca. Retreats that offer toad medicine alongside ayahuasca therefore raise interaction concerns. (Journal of Analytical Toxicology, 2005; ICEERS, 2023)

Included, as published

  • Round-trip ground transport (San Diego pickup)
  • Private or semi-private accommodation
  • 24/7 medical support
  • Chef-prepared meals
  • Pre-treatment coaching
  • Somatic treatments
  • Post-treatment integration

Screening, as the centre describes it

EKG (site says within 60 days; programme page says within 3 months), full blood panel and full medication/substance history required before arrival; real-time cardiac and vitals monitoring during treatment. Mother Jones reported an EKG on arrival.

The cited ibogaine safety facts to check it against

What a medically supervised ibogaine involves

The typical shape of this kind of programme. Use it as a checklist to ask against, not as this centre's timetable.

  1. Before arrivalPre-screening paperwork, bloods and cardiac workup. This is not a formality. Ibogaine prolongs the QT interval and has caused fatal arrhythmias.
  2. Days 1 to 2On-site medical assessment, ECG, electrolyte correction, and psychological intake. Stabilisation before anything is administered.
  3. Day 3 to 4Ibogaine administered under continuous cardiac monitoring with nursing staff present throughout the active phase, which runs many hours.
  4. Recovery daysThe grey-day period afterwards: sleep, low stimulation, liver-supporting food, gentle bodywork, and counselling as capacity returns.
  5. Before dischargeIntegration planning and aftercare referral. Relapse risk is highest in the weeks after, so what happens next matters more than the dose did.

Reader reviews

Everyone who enquires through Peyote.com is asked for a review about three weeks later, and every review is published unless it breaks a posting rule, never because it is negative. Ambio Life Sciences pays Peyote.com nothing. Paying never changes which reviews appear. How we make money

Ambio Life Sciences: questions and answers

Where is Ambio Life Sciences?
Ambio Life Sciences is in Playas de Tijuana, Baja California (also operates in Malta), Mexico, as the centre describes its location.Sources: Ambio homepage, 28 Sep 2026; Ambio - FAQs, 28 Sep 2026
How much does Ambio Life Sciences cost?
Ambio Life Sciences publishes 3 prices: Foundational Program (5 nights) from $8,350; Neuroregenerative Program (4 nights) from $7,350; Detoxification Program from $9,350, as read on its own website on 28 Sep 2026. Prices change; confirm the current figure with the centre before paying a deposit. The centre has a public record, shown on its profile.Source: Ambio Life Sciences website, 28 Sep 2026
How long is a programme at Ambio Life Sciences?
Published programmes at Ambio Life Sciences run 4 to 5 nights, as the centre publishes them.Source: Ambio Life Sciences website, 28 Sep 2026
Does Ambio Life Sciences screen guests before a retreat?
Ambio Life Sciences describes medical screening. In its own words: EKG (site says within 60 days; programme page says within 3 months), full blood panel and full medication/substance history required before arrival; real-time cardiac and vitals monitoring during treatment. Mother Jones reported an EKG on arrival.Sources: KPBS, 25 Sep 2024: 'In search of hope: Veterans turn to psychedelic treatment in Tijuana', 28 Sep 2026; The War Horse (Natanya Friedheim), 2026: 'Afghanistan and Iraq War veteran hopes to heal with Ibogaine', 28 Sep 2026
Is ibogaine legal in Mexico?
Ibogaine is not listed in Mexico's General Health Law: unregulated, not approved.Source: Camara de Diputados del H. Congreso de la Union, 15 Jan 2026The law in every place we cover

Compare side by side: Ambio Life Sciences vs Beond, Ambio Life Sciences vs Iboga Wellness Institute

Sources for this profile

Run Ambio Life Sciences? Show the Listed on Peyote.com badge on your site or send a correction.

Before any ibogaine treatment

  • Deaths: consecutive case seriesSerious risk

    A review of all known deaths outside West Central Africa temporally linked to ibogaine from 1990 through 2008 found 19 people who died within 1.5 to 76 hours of taking it. Pre-existing medical conditions, mainly cardiovascular, and/or other abused substances explained or contributed to 12 of the 14 deaths with adequate post-mortem data; seizures from alcohol and benzodiazepine withdrawal were another apparent risk factor. (Journal of Forensic Sciences, 2012)

  • Later death countSerious risk

    A 2018 review gives a detailed update of 33 deaths known to have occurred after ibogaine, including 5 in the UK, and attributes serious adverse effects to undiagnosed health conditions and/or concomitant use of other drugs. (Progress in Brain Research, 2018)

  • Mechanism of cardiac risk (hERG)Serious risk

    Therapeutic concentrations of ibogaine reduce currents through human hERG potassium channels, providing a mechanism by which it may generate life-threatening cardiac arrhythmias. A 2015 review links the accumulating reports of sudden death to this arrhythmia risk. (Addiction Biology, 2014; Molecules, 2015)

  • QT prolongation measured in a clinical studySerious risk

    In a Dutch university study of 14 opioid-dependent patients given a single 10 mg/kg dose, maximum QTc prolongation averaged 95 ms (range 29 to 146 ms), half reached a QTc over 500 ms, and in 6 of 14 the QTc stayed above 450 ms beyond 24 hours. No torsades de pointes occurred, but severe transient ataxia (unable to walk unsupported) was seen in all patients. (Addiction, 2022)

The dispatch

Laws change. Centres change. Know before you book.

A brief, sent only in weeks when something changes: jurisdictions that shifted, listings added or revised, and the research worth reading. No hype, no sourcing talk.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Unsubscribe any time.