Skip to content

The directory / Ayahuasca

Ayahuasca retreats in Costa Rica

13 ayahuasca centres in Costa Rica, listed because ayahuasca is tolerated, though not authorised, there. Every centre we could confirm is operating is listed, including those with a public record, which is shown on their profiles. Nothing operating underground is listed.

1 centre has a public record entry: Rythmia Life Advancement Center.

Soltara Healing Center

Playa Blanca and Scarlet Valley, Puntarenas

All-inclusive ayahuasca retreat centre working with Indigenous Shipibo healers from Peru, with two Costa Rican locations: a seaside site at Playa Blanca on the Gulf of Nicoya and a ridge-top site at Scarlet Valley.

5 to 12 nightsFrom $2,975 (published 28 Sep 2026)

Rythmia Life Advancement Center

Santa Cruz (near Tamarindo), Guanacaste

Resort-style retreat in Guanacaste running a 7-night all-inclusive programme with four optional ayahuasca ceremonies, one of them a yage night, alongside yoga, breathwork and meditation.

7 nightsFrom $4,900 (published 28 Sep 2026)Public record

Anam Cara Healing Retreats

Southern Costa Rica (mountains); also described as Nosara, Guanacaste

Small-group 8-day retreats with three ayahuasca ceremonies led by Shipibo-Konibo practitioners, capped at 9-14 guests, with one month of preparation and integration support.

7 nightsFrom $4,400 (published 28 Sep 2026)Own-site details only

Ayahuasca Costa Rica

Near San Isidro del General, Perez Zeledon

Family-run mountain retreat led by Erick Saldana and family, offering one-night ceremonies and 4- and 6-day retreats for small groups.

3 to 5 nightsFrom $750 (published 28 Sep 2026)Own-site details only

Ayaterra Costa Rica

Costa Rica (town not stated)

Rainforest retreat house offering ayahuasca programmes from a single day to seven days.

6 nightsFrom $420 (published 28 Sep 2026)Own-site details only

Behold Retreats (Costa Rica)

Esterillos, Central Pacific coast

Premium operator running 7-day, 3-ceremony ayahuasca retreats for up to 11 guests at a Pacific-coast venue; also sells psilocybin and 5-MeO-DMT programmes.

6 nightsFrom $7,650 (published 28 Sep 2026)

Casa de la Luz Ayahuasca Costa Rica

Turrucares, Alajuela, Costa Rica (near SJO airport)

Family-run centre near San Jose airport offering fully private ayahuasca retreats (one person or a small private party) of one night, five days or seven days.

6 nightsFrom $3,600 (published 28 Sep 2026)Own-site details only

Inner Flight Retreat

Caribbean coast

Seven-day Shipibo ayahuasca retreats on Costa Rica's Caribbean coast guided by Shipibo maestros, run by Alexandra and Roberto Ten; also runs a Peru retreat.

6 nightsFrom $3,300 (published 28 Sep 2026)Own-site details only

New Life Rising

Guanacaste (near Tamarindo)

Husband-and-wife-led small-group ayahuasca retreats in Peruvian mestizo tradition, hosted in Guanacaste since 2014, now also run as a US 501(c)(3) church with retreats in Texas.

Own-site details only

OM Jungle Medicine

Santa Elena, Costa Rica (per third-party listings)

Jungle retreat offering ayahuasca ceremonies in Peruvian tradition alongside breathwork, sound healing and workshops, for groups of up to 30.

Own-site details only

Pandorita

Piedras Blancas National Park area, Golfo Dulce (near Puerto Jimenez), Puntarenas

Rainforest retreat running 8-day programmes with three ayahuasca ceremonies led by female Shipibo healers.

7 nightsOwn-site details only

Templo del Tigre

Dos Brazos, Osa Peninsula (near Puerto Jimenez), Puntarenas

Small Osa Peninsula centre focused on one-to-one Amazonian master plant dietas (mapacho and tree medicines), with private or small-group ayahuasca ceremonies.

Own-site details only

The Healing Tree Center (Costa Rica)

Costa Rica, beachside (town not stated)

Beachside villa retreat offering ayahuasca and Andean coca-leaf ceremonies in 3-, 5- and 7-day formats; says it began in Peru in 2014.

2 to 6 nightsFrom $1,400 (published 28 Sep 2026)Own-site details only

Is ayahuasca legal in Costa Rica?

Tolerated · Ayahuasca

Ayahuasca is not named in Costa Rica's drug law but is not authorised either: tolerated in practice, and the subject of a January 2025 Health Ministry warning.

Law 8204 controls DMT but does not name ayahuasca or the plants it is made from. On 27 January 2025 the Ministry of Health warned that ayahuasca and ibogaine products have no sanitary registration and are not authorised for therapeutic use, noted that DMT is a controlled substance, and advised against advertising them. There is no licensing regime for retreats, so centres operate in a legal grey area rather than on a clear legal basis.

What the sources say

  • Ley 8204 is Costa Rica's framework law on narcotics, psychotropic substances, unauthorised drugs and related activities. It is administered with the Instituto Costarricense sobre Drogas. (Instituto Costarricense sobre Drogas, current page; Transnational Institute (copy of statute), 2001)
  • On 27 January 2025 the Ministerio de Salud issued a health warning. It said ayahuasca and ibogaine products lack sanitary registration and are not authorised for therapeutic use, that DMT is on the international and national lists of controlled substances, that any product based on ayahuasca or ibogaine must comply with national control and registration rules, and it advised against advertising them. (Ministerio de Salud de Costa Rica, 27 Jan 2025)
  • Writing in La Republica on 5 February 2025, lawyer Herman Duarte argued that neither Banisteriopsis caapi nor Psychotria viridis is on the prohibited lists behind Costa Rican drug law, and called for explicit regulation of retreat centres, which he says currently operate in a legal gap. (La Republica (Costa Rica), 5 Feb 2025)

More jurisdictions and substances in the legal status table.

Law changes in Costa Rica

Dated changes to the law, regulation or official guidance, newest first, each with its source. Every country in the log.

  1. Official guidance

    The Ministerio de Salud issued a health warning: ayahuasca and ibogaine products lack sanitary registration and are not authorised for therapeutic use, DMT is on the international and national lists of controlled substances, and any ayahuasca or ibogaine product must comply with national control and registration rules. It advised against advertising them. (Ministerio de Salud de Costa Rica, 27 Jan 2025)

Programme lengths and published prices

Programme length
2 to 12 nights
Median 6 nights, across 15 published programmes at 10 centres in Costa Rica.
Published prices (USD)
$420 to $7,650
Median $2,737.5, across 14 programmes at 9 centres, as published on 28 Sep 2026.

Computed from the programmes these centres publish; centres that publish no length or price are not counted. Not an average of what people pay.

Centre and programmeNightsFromPublished
Ayaterra Costa RicaFull dayNot stated$42028 Sep 2026
Ayahuasca Costa RicaOne-night ceremonyNot stated$75028 Sep 2026
Ayaterra Costa Rica7 days / 6 nights6$1,19028 Sep 2026
The Healing Tree Center (Costa Rica)3 days / 2 nights2$1,40028 Sep 2026
The Healing Tree Center (Costa Rica)5 days / 4 nights4$2,00028 Sep 2026
Ayahuasca Costa Rica4-day retreat3$2,50028 Sep 2026
The Healing Tree Center (Costa Rica)7 days / 6 nights6$2,50028 Sep 2026
Soltara Healing Center5-night retreat5$2,97528 Sep 2026
Inner Flight RetreatCosta Rica Shipibo retreat6$3,30028 Sep 2026
Casa de la Luz Ayahuasca Costa Rica7-day private retreat6$3,60028 Sep 2026
Ayahuasca Costa Rica6-day retreat5$3,80028 Sep 2026
Anam Cara Healing Retreats7-night Shipibo ayahuasca retreat7$4,40028 Sep 2026
Rythmia Life Advancement CenterThe Rythmia Way 7-night all-inclusive7$4,90028 Sep 2026
Behold Retreats (Costa Rica)7-day ayahuasca retreat6$7,65028 Sep 2026

What to check before booking

  • 8 of 13 centres describe a medical screening process on their own sites. Each profile quotes what the centre says.

The medical exclusions and interactions below are the ones published research and harm-reduction services flag for ayahuasca. Ask any centre how its screening handles each one.

  • Serotonin syndrome with SSRIs and other serotonergic drugsSerious risk

    The MAO-inhibiting harmala alkaloids in ayahuasca combined with SSRI antidepressants may induce a serotonin syndrome with a potentially grave outcome. ICEERS states that combining MAOIs with SSRIs or other serotonergic medications is contraindicated. (Journal of Psychoactive Drugs, 1998; ICEERS, 2026)

  • Why MAOI-containing brews carry more interaction riskSerious risk

    A review of serotonin toxicity notes that true serotonin toxicity typically occurs with overdose or when a drug that increases synaptic serotonin is combined with an MAOI; serotonergic drugs without MAOIs are low risk with psychedelics that also lack MAOIs. Warning signs needing immediate medical attention include myoclonus, extreme or fluctuating vital signs, agitation or coma, muscle rigidity, high fever and seizures. (Psychopharmacology (Berl), 2022)

  • Other contraindicated medicines and supplementsSerious risk

    ICEERS lists antidepressants and other psychotropic medications, drugs metabolised by certain cytochrome enzymes, and any medication that interacts with MAO (including MAO inhibitors) as potentially contraindicated, and names St John's wort and Ginkgo biloba as contraindicated herbal supplements. It advises avoiding alcohol, stimulants, opioids and other drugs in the days or weeks before a session. (ICEERS, 2018)

  • Stopping medication before a ceremonySerious risk

    ICEERS says contraindicated medications such as certain antidepressants may need to be stopped at least two weeks before a session, but only under strict medical supervision because abruptly stopping psychiatric medication can be dangerous. It also warns that stopping medication for a chronic illness to take ayahuasca can itself be dangerous. (ICEERS, 2018)

  • Psychosis and personal or family psychiatric historySerious risk

    A systematic review found case reports of psychotic episodes after ayahuasca or DMT, several in people with a personal or possibly family history of psychosis or mania, and concluded that people with a personal or family history of any psychotic illness or non-psychotic mania should avoid hallucinogens. ICEERS describes ayahuasca as contraindicated for people with severe psychiatric disorders, particularly those prone to psychosis. (Therapeutic Advances in Psychopharmacology, 2017; ICEERS, 2026; ICEERS, 2018)

  • Deaths linked to ayahuasca often involved other substancesSerious risk

    An ICEERS review of 58 deaths that media attributed to ayahuasca between 2010 and 2022 states that no autopsy attributed death to acute intoxication with the traditional brew; in 4 cases tobacco seems to have been the direct cause, one death was from scopolamine (a Brugmansia admixture was suspected in two others) and one US death seems to have followed an overdose of synthetic 5-MeO-DMT taken hours after ayahuasca. ICEERS is an ayahuasca advocacy and harm-reduction organisation, and it notes 16 cases where the cause could not be determined. (ICEERS, 2023)

  • Tobacco purge teaSerious risk

    CBC News reported that Canadian Jennifer Logan, 32, died at a retreat near Puerto Maldonado, Peru, in January 2015 after drinking a mapacho 'tobacco purge tea' in a ceremony; she died of pulmonary edema and her family believed the tea played a role. (CBC News, 2015; ICEERS, 2023)

  • Ayahuasca combined with 5-MeO-DMTSerious risk

    A published autopsy case describes a 25-year-old man found dead after taking herbal extracts containing beta-carbolines and tryptamines; heart blood contained 5-MeO-DMT (1.88 mg/L) plus DMT, harmine, harmaline and tetrahydroharmine, and the medical examiner ruled the cause hallucinogenic amine intoxication. (Journal of Analytical Toxicology, 2005)

  • Combination with ayahuasca can be fatalSerious risk

    A published autopsy case attributed a death to hallucinogenic amine intoxication after 5-MeO-DMT was taken together with harmala alkaloids, and ICEERS reports a US death that seems to have followed an overdose of synthetic 5-MeO-DMT taken hours after ayahuasca. Retreats that offer toad medicine alongside ayahuasca therefore raise interaction concerns. (Journal of Analytical Toxicology, 2005; ICEERS, 2023)

  • Sexual abuse by healers and facilitatorsSerious risk

    Chacruna's community guide warns that ceremonies or healing sessions alone with a healer have been a common context for sexual abuse, that practices such as sopladas and plant baths do not involve touching private parts or require nudity, and that sexual contact between healer and participant during or directly after ceremonies is not acceptable in ayahuasca traditions. (Chacruna Institute for Psychedelic Plant Medicines, 2018)

  • Monitoring gaps in unregulated ibogaine careSerious risk

    The New Zealand Health and Disability Commissioner case shows a death where a clinic departed from its own protocol, did not obtain written consent and left an 'iboga assistant' solely responsible for monitoring a patient after ibogaine; the assistant was also found in breach for failing to monitor adequately. (New Zealand Health and Disability Commissioner, 2015)

Every cited ayahuasca safety fact

Questions, answered from the data

Is ayahuasca legal in Costa Rica?
Costa Rica's Law 8204 controls DMT but does not name ayahuasca or its plants. No specific framework exists, and in January 2025 the Health Ministry warned that ayahuasca and ibogaine products are unregistered and not authorised for therapeutic use. Sources: Instituto Costarricense sobre Drogas, current page; Ministerio de Salud de Costa Rica, 27 Jan 2025; La Republica (Costa Rica), 5 Feb 2025.
How many ayahuasca retreats are there in Costa Rica?
Peyote.com lists 13 ayahuasca retreats in Costa Rica, compiled from operators' own sites and independent sources, last checked 28 Sep 2026. Of these, 1 has a public record entry, shown on its profile with sources. A listing is not an endorsement or a safety rating.
How much does an ayahuasca retreat in Costa Rica cost?
Published prices run from $420 to $7,650 for a whole programme, across 14 programmes at 9 of the 13 listed centres, as the operators publish them (read on 28 Sep 2026). The lowest is Ayaterra Costa Rica, Full day; the highest is Behold Retreats (Costa Rica), 7-day ayahuasca retreat, 6 nights. Each price links to the operator's page in the table on this page. Prices change; confirm before booking.
How long is an ayahuasca retreat in Costa Rica?
Published programmes run from 2 to 12 nights, with a median of 6, across 15 programmes at 10 of the 13 listed centres, as the operators publish them.
When did the law on ayahuasca in Costa Rica last change?
The most recent change in our log is dated 27 Jan 2025. The Ministerio de Salud issued a health warning: ayahuasca and ibogaine products lack sanitary registration and are not authorised for therapeutic use, DMT is on the international and national lists of controlled substances, and any ayahuasca or ibogaine product must comply with national control and registration rules. It advised against advertising them. (Source: Ministerio de Salud de Costa Rica, 27 Jan 2025.)

Before you go

  • Fireside Project, a free, confidential psychedelic peer support line for people during and after an experience. Worth saving before a session, not after.
  • Keep a working phone line for the whole trip, so someone at home can reach you and you can reach them. A travel eSIM gives you mobile data in Costa Rica without buying a local SIM on arrival.

The dispatch

Laws change. Centres change. Know before you book.

A brief, sent only in weeks when something changes: jurisdictions that shifted, listings added or revised, and the research worth reading. No hype, no sourcing talk.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Unsubscribe any time.