The directory / Questions
What ayahuasca retreats cost in Peru, Costa Rica and Brazil
Published prices for ayahuasca retreats in Peru range from $850 to $6,850 per programme (median $2,950), across 26 programmes at 10 centres, as published on 28 September 2026. Costa Rica and Brazil are listed as tolerated rather than legal: ayahuasca is not authorised there, and the legal footing of paid retreats is a grey area.
Figures computed from the directory's rows, read 28 Sep 2026. Every fact links to its source.
Peru
Traditional ayahuasca use is protected as national cultural heritage; there is no licensing regime for retreats.
- Programme length
- 5 to 20 nights
- Median 7 nights, across 11 published programmes at 7 centres in Peru.
- Published prices (PEN)
- S/ 5,000
- Median S/ 5,000, across 1 programme at 1 centre, as published on 28 Sep 2026.
- Published prices (USD)
- $850 to $6,850
- Median $2,950, across 26 programmes at 10 centres, as published on 28 Sep 2026.
Computed from the programmes these centres publish; centres that publish no length or price are not counted. Not an average of what people pay.
| Centre and programme | Nights | From | Published |
|---|---|---|---|
| Takiwasi CenterRetreat/Diet with Master Plants | 7 | S/ 5,000 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Kapitari7-day retreat | 6 | $850 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Etnikas5 Day Ayahuasca Retreat | Not stated | $1,100 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Refugio Altiplano7-Day Retreat | Not stated | $1,200 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Nihue Rao Centro Espiritual7-Day Ayahuasca Retreat (Starter) | Not stated | $1,600 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Refugio Altiplano9-Day Retreat | Not stated | $1,600 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Nimea Kaya Healing Center7 Day Retreat | 6 | $1,950 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Blue MorphoAmazon retreat (Blue Morpho Lodge) | Not stated | $1,998 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Refugio Altiplano12-Day Retreat | Not stated | $2,000 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Nimea Kaya Healing Center9 Day Retreat | 8 | $2,100 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Nihue Rao Centro Espiritual11-21 Day Healing Retreat with master plant diet | Not stated | $2,100 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| SpiritQuest Shamanic SanctuaryAyahuasca program | 8 | $2,349 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Arkana Spiritual Center7 Day Ayahuasca Retreat (Amazon) | 6 | $2,520 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| The Ayahuasca Foundation10-day renewal ayahuasca retreat | Not stated | $2,950 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| The Ayahuasca Foundation10-day women's ayahuasca retreat | Not stated | $2,950 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Blue MorphoSacred Valley retreat (Andean Haven) | Not stated | $2,990 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Blue MorphoHeliconia Lodge Amazon retreat | Not stated | $2,990 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Temple of the Way of LightStepping Into Alignment Retreat | 7 | $3,330 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Refugio Altiplano26-Day Immersion | Not stated | $3,400 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Nihue Rao Centro Espiritual1-2 Month Deep Healing Retreat | Not stated | $4,100 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| The Ayahuasca Foundation18-day ayahuasca retreat and dieta | Not stated | $4,250 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Temple of the Way of LightLiving in Alignment Retreat | 11 | $4,440 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Arkana Spiritual Center14 Day Ayahuasca Retreat (Amazon) | 13 | $4,680 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| The Ayahuasca Foundation4-week healing empowerment course | Not stated | $5,550 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Temple of the Way of LightLiving in Alignment + 5-Day Integration Extension | Not stated | $5,700 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Arkana Spiritual Center21 Day Ayahuasca Retreat (Amazon) | 20 | $6,800 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| The Ayahuasca Foundation8-week ayahuasca initiation course | Not stated | $6,850 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| DreamgladeAyahuasca retreat (per day, 5 nights to 2 weeks) | 5 | $200 per day | 28 Sep 2026 |
Costa Rica
Ayahuasca is not named in Costa Rica's drug law but is not authorised either: tolerated in practice, and the subject of a January 2025 Health Ministry warning.
- Programme length
- 2 to 12 nights
- Median 6 nights, across 15 published programmes at 10 centres in Costa Rica.
- Published prices (USD)
- $420 to $7,650
- Median $2,737.5, across 14 programmes at 9 centres, as published on 28 Sep 2026.
Computed from the programmes these centres publish; centres that publish no length or price are not counted. Not an average of what people pay.
| Centre and programme | Nights | From | Published |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ayaterra Costa RicaFull day | Not stated | $420 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Ayahuasca Costa RicaOne-night ceremony | Not stated | $750 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Ayaterra Costa Rica7 days / 6 nights | 6 | $1,190 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| The Healing Tree Center (Costa Rica)3 days / 2 nights | 2 | $1,400 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| The Healing Tree Center (Costa Rica)5 days / 4 nights | 4 | $2,000 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Ayahuasca Costa Rica4-day retreat | 3 | $2,500 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| The Healing Tree Center (Costa Rica)7 days / 6 nights | 6 | $2,500 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Soltara Healing Center5-night retreat | 5 | $2,975 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Inner Flight RetreatCosta Rica Shipibo retreat | 6 | $3,300 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Casa de la Luz Ayahuasca Costa Rica7-day private retreat | 6 | $3,600 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Ayahuasca Costa Rica6-day retreat | 5 | $3,800 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Anam Cara Healing Retreats7-night Shipibo ayahuasca retreat | 7 | $4,400 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Rythmia Life Advancement CenterThe Rythmia Way 7-night all-inclusive | 7 | $4,900 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Behold Retreats (Costa Rica)7-day ayahuasca retreat | 6 | $7,650 | 28 Sep 2026 |
Brazil
Religious use of ayahuasca is permitted; paid retreats for visitors sit in a legal grey area under CONAD Resolution 1/2010.
- Programme length
- 7 to 10 nights
- Median 8 nights, across 3 published programmes at 2 centres in Brazil.
- Published prices (USD)
- $2,450 to $2,750
- Median $2,600, across 2 programmes at 1 centre, as published on 28 Sep 2026.
Computed from the programmes these centres publish; centres that publish no length or price are not counted. Not an average of what people pay.
| Centre and programme | Nights | From | Published |
|---|---|---|---|
| Spirit Vine Ayahuasca Retreat Center9-day retreat | 8 | $2,450 | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Spirit Vine Ayahuasca Retreat Center11-day retreat | 10 | $2,750 | 28 Sep 2026 |
What a price does not tell you
A higher price does not show better screening or safer care. These are the cited risks to ask any centre about, whatever it charges.
Serotonin syndrome with SSRIs and other serotonergic drugsSerious risk
The MAO-inhibiting harmala alkaloids in ayahuasca combined with SSRI antidepressants may induce a serotonin syndrome with a potentially grave outcome. ICEERS states that combining MAOIs with SSRIs or other serotonergic medications is contraindicated. (Journal of Psychoactive Drugs, 1998; ICEERS, 2026)
Why MAOI-containing brews carry more interaction riskSerious risk
A review of serotonin toxicity notes that true serotonin toxicity typically occurs with overdose or when a drug that increases synaptic serotonin is combined with an MAOI; serotonergic drugs without MAOIs are low risk with psychedelics that also lack MAOIs. Warning signs needing immediate medical attention include myoclonus, extreme or fluctuating vital signs, agitation or coma, muscle rigidity, high fever and seizures. (Psychopharmacology (Berl), 2022)
Other contraindicated medicines and supplementsSerious risk
ICEERS lists antidepressants and other psychotropic medications, drugs metabolised by certain cytochrome enzymes, and any medication that interacts with MAO (including MAO inhibitors) as potentially contraindicated, and names St John's wort and Ginkgo biloba as contraindicated herbal supplements. It advises avoiding alcohol, stimulants, opioids and other drugs in the days or weeks before a session. (ICEERS, 2018)
Stopping medication before a ceremonySerious risk
ICEERS says contraindicated medications such as certain antidepressants may need to be stopped at least two weeks before a session, but only under strict medical supervision because abruptly stopping psychiatric medication can be dangerous. It also warns that stopping medication for a chronic illness to take ayahuasca can itself be dangerous. (ICEERS, 2018)
Psychosis and personal or family psychiatric historySerious risk
A systematic review found case reports of psychotic episodes after ayahuasca or DMT, several in people with a personal or possibly family history of psychosis or mania, and concluded that people with a personal or family history of any psychotic illness or non-psychotic mania should avoid hallucinogens. ICEERS describes ayahuasca as contraindicated for people with severe psychiatric disorders, particularly those prone to psychosis. (Therapeutic Advances in Psychopharmacology, 2017; ICEERS, 2026; ICEERS, 2018)
Questions and answers
- How much does an ayahuasca retreat cost in Peru?
- Published prices for ayahuasca retreats in Peru range from $850 to $6,850 per programme (median $2,950), across 26 programmes at 10 centres, as published on 28 September 2026. Where a night count is published, the median is $340 per night (9 programmes). These are the centres' own starting prices, not what every guest pays.
- How much does an ayahuasca retreat cost in Costa Rica?
- Published prices for ayahuasca retreats in Costa Rica range from $420 to $7,650 per programme (median $2,737.5), across 14 programmes at 9 centres, as published on 28 September 2026. Where a night count is published, the median is $614 per night (12 programmes). These are the centres' own starting prices, not what every guest pays.
- How much does an ayahuasca retreat cost in Brazil?
- Published prices for ayahuasca retreats in Brazil range from $2,450 to $2,750 per programme (median $2,600), across 2 programmes at 1 centre, as published on 28 September 2026. Where a night count is published, the median is $291 per night (2 programmes). These are the centres' own starting prices, not what every guest pays.
- Why are some centres missing from the price table?
- 8 of the 30 listed ayahuasca centres publish no price on the pages we read. We never estimate a price that is not published.